ANNOUNCEMENT

Vasil A. Popov Prize in Approximation Theory

Call for 1998 Nominations

The second Vasil A. Popov Prize will be awarded at the Ninth Texas International Conference on Approximation Theory to be held in January 1998. The prize has been established in memory of Vasil A. Popov and his contributions to approximation theory and related areas of mathematics.

The prize is awarded every 3 years for outstanding research contributions in fields related to Vasil Popov's work. Albert Cohen was the first recipient of the Vasil A. Popov Prize awarded in 1995. Eligibility for this prize is restricted to mathematicians who did not have their terminal degree as of June 1, 1991. The winner of the prize will be asked to deliver a plenary lecture at the Texas conference.

The Selection Committee for the Vasil A. Popov Prize consists of Charles Chui, Ronald A. DeVore, Paul Nevai, Allan Pinkus, Pencho Petrushev, and Edward Saff.

Nominations should include a brief description of the research related to the nomination. Other supporting material may also be submitted. The closing date for nominations is June 1, 1997.

Nominations should be made to the Chairman of the Selection Committee:

Professor Ronald A. DeVore Department of Mathematics University of South Carolina Columbia, South Carolina 29208